
 NRS 608.018  Compensation for overtime: Requirement; exceptions. 
1. An employer shall pay 1 1/2 times an employee’s regular wage rate whenever an employee who receives

compensation for employment at a rate less than 1 1/2 times the minimum rate set forth in NRS 608.250 works: 
(a) More than 40 hours in any scheduled week of work; or
(b) More than 8 hours in any workday unless by mutual agreement the employee works a scheduled 10 hours per

day for 4 calendar days within any scheduled week of work. 
2. An employer shall pay 1 1/2 times an employee’s regular wage rate whenever an employee who receives

compensation for employment at a rate not less than 1 1/2 times the minimum rate set forth in NRS 608.250 works 
more than 40 hours in any scheduled week of work. 

3. The provisions of subsections 1 and 2 do not apply to:
(a) Employees who are not covered by the minimum wage provisions of Section 16 of Article 15 of the Nevada

Constitution; 
(b) Outside buyers;
(c) Employees in a retail or service business if their regular rate is more than 1 1/2 times the minimum wage, and

more than half their compensation for a representative period comes from commissions on goods or services, with the 
representative period being, to the extent allowed pursuant to federal law, not less than 1 month; 

(d) Employees who are employed in bona fide executive, administrative or professional capacities;
(e) Employees covered by collective bargaining agreements which provide otherwise for overtime;
(f) Drivers, drivers’ helpers, loaders and mechanics for motor carriers subject to the Motor Carrier Act of 1935,

as amended; 
(g) Employees of a railroad;
(h) Employees of a carrier by air;
(i) Drivers or drivers’ helpers making local deliveries and paid on a trip-rate basis or other delivery payment plan;
(j) Drivers of taxicabs or limousines;
(k) Agricultural employees;
(l) Employees of business enterprises having a gross sales volume of less than $250,000 per year;

 (m) Any salesperson or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or servicing automobiles, trucks or farm equipment;
(n) A mechanic or worker for any hours to which the provisions of subsection 3 or 4 of NRS 338.020 apply;
(o) A domestic worker who resides in the household where he or she works if the domestic worker and his or her

employer agree in writing to exempt the domestic worker from the requirements of subsections 1 and 2; and 
(p) A domestic service employee who resides in the household where he or she works if the domestic service

employee and his or her employer agree in writing to exempt the domestic service employee from the requirements 
of subsections 1 and 2. 

4. As used in this section, “domestic worker” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 613.620.
(Added to NRS by 1975, 1583; A 1977, 1373; 1985, 578; 2003, 1742; 2005, 2520; 2009, 2493; 2017,

3886, 4178; 2019, 3746) 

Additional information on Nevada Overtime Pay: https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/overtime  
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